NES Controller Adapter ‘Unitiblue’ and Linux 2.6

July 31, 2007

Some years ago, I purchased a ‘Unitiblue’ NES Controller->USB adapter from blackchopper.com for use under Linux. I don’t recall the exactly when I made the purchase, I think it was 2005 or so.

The device worked as advertised under kernel 2.4, and for a time I enjoyed playing emulated versions of Ninja Gaiden and the like under Linux.

Then, I moved apartments, upgraded my computer several times, and the company at blackchopper.com ceased to exist.

Recently, I wanted to use the device again, but without kernel 2.6 support and without a company to email for details, I would have to sort out myself how to get the thing working under kernel 2.6. Reading for a bit on-line, I discovered ‘fxload’ was the tool that should be able to load the firmware onto the device, and through trial and error found this set of options to work :

fxload -t an21 -D /dev/__device_name__ -I /home/user/unitiblue/cca-4-11-04.hex

Getting the device firmware to load automatically when the device was plugged in would be a whole other challenge. Udev rules might be clearly explained somewhere on the Internet, but I can’t find where. After much arguing and man-page reading, I found a similar set of rules in an existing udev rules file, and modified it to match the Unitiblue device :

> cat /etc/udev/rules.d/49-unitiblue.rules

BUS==”usb”, ACTION==”add”, SYSFS{idVendor}==”f666″, SYSFS{idProduct}==”aa01″, \
PROGRAM=”/bin/sh -c ‘K=%k; K=$${K#usbdev}; printf bus/usb/%%03i/%%03i $${K%%%%.*} $${K#*.}'” \
RUN+=”/bin/sh -c ‘/sbin/fxload -t an21 -D /dev/%c -I /home/mythuser/unitiblue/cca-4-11-04.hex'”

I’m still not sure just what the rule means, but it works and I like all the %’s and brackets and such.

After getting the device to load automatically when plugged in, I noticed it still behaved sort of flaky. I took it apart to discover several of the wires were bare for long enough to short out each other. Some electrical tape later and I’m back now, in emulator joy.

Leave a Reply

